Leading with purpose

Meet the 2024 Geyer Award recipients.

three Geyer award winners
The recipients of the 2024 Henry S. Geyer Award, from left: Caleb Jones, Chris Chinn and Tony Luetkmeyer. Each year, the MAA presents the award to those who exemplify the dedication and spirit of Henry S. Geyer, a state representative from St. Louis.

Published on Show Me Mizzou April 30, 2024

The Mizzou Alumni Association (MAA) is proud to announce the recipients of the 2024 Henry S. Geyer Award. Each year, the MAA presents the award to those who exemplify the dedication and spirit of Henry S. Geyer, a state representative from St. Louis who believed education was the key to progress and prosperity in Missouri. Geyer introduced a bill to establish the University of Missouri in 1839.

Chris Chinn became director of the Missouri Department of Agriculture in January 2017. With more than 15 years of leadership experience in agriculture at local, state and national levels, she advocates for the industry through legislative efforts, social media engagement and sharing insights as a fifth-generation farmer. Collaborating with Governor Mike Parson and cabinet members, Chinn prioritizes agricultural development and infrastructure initiatives, including job creation and infrastructure maintenance. She strongly supports the University of Missouri College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources, where she serves on the dean’s advisory council. She resides on her family’s farm in Shelby County with her husband, Kevin, and their children, Rachelle and Conner.

Caleb Jones serves as the executive vice president and CEO of Missouri Electric Cooperatives. Jones has a distinguished background including roles as a former presidential appointee, congressional staffer and three-term Missouri State Representative for the 50th District. During his legislative tenure, Jones significantly boosted core funding for the university and secured support for various projects such as the new MU School of Medicine and Sinclair School of Nursing buildings, as well as initiatives including the Missouri Kidney Program and the Thompson Center for Autism and Neurodevelopment. As CEO, Jones strengthens university ties through partnerships such as the Mizzou Youth Experience and MU Extension and facilitates access to Mizzou sporting events. He and his wife, Lindsey (BS ’10), live in Boone County with their children, Maxwell and Charleston.

Senator Tony Luetkemeyer has represented Missouri’s 34th District since 2019 and was reelected for a second term in 2022. He chairs the Judiciary and Civil and Criminal Jurisprudence Committee and serves as vice-chairman of the Appropriations Committee. Luetkemeyer’s dedication to the University of Missouri (MU) began as a student, where he served as the student representative to the Board of Curators and president of the Missouri Students Association. In office, he strongly advocates for the University of Missouri System and the Columbia campus and notably supports the NextGen MURR initiative. This initiative aims to construct a larger research reactor at MU to enhance cancer research and medical isotope production. He and his wife, Lucinda, reside in Parkville, Missouri, and enjoy outdoor activities with their dog, Truman.

To read more articles like this, become a Mizzou Alumni Association member and receive MIZZOU magazine in your mailbox. Click here to join.

Subscribe to

Show Me Mizzou

Stay up-to-date with the latest news by subscribing to the Show Me Mizzou newsletter.