Four Tigers receive Hesburgh Scholarship

Four students
Allison Bivens, Alexandra Gillund, Bhushan Sreekrishnavilas and Anhyun Lee

June 18, 2024

Four University of Missouri students recently received the Hesburgh Scholarship for their accomplishments in Mizzou’s general education program. The award is named after Father Theodore Hesburgh, the former president of Notre Dame University, in recognition of his commitment to liberal arts education. Given to one undergraduate student from each class, the scholarship underscores the vital role of general education courses, which ensure that graduates leave Mizzou not only ready to excel in their respective fields but also with a rich, well-rounded foundation of knowledge.

Recipients, who were announced during spring semester, are:

  • Allison Bivens, a freshman environmental sciences (atmosphere) major from Columbia, Missouri
  • Alexandra Gillund, a sophomore mechanical engineering major from Mokena, Illinois
  • Bhushan Sreekrishnavilas, a junior computer science major from St. Louis, Missouri
  • Ahhyun Lee, a senior computer science major from Busan, South Korea

Bivens, Gillund and Sreekrishnavilas are all pursuing the Honors Certificate at Mizzou.

Subscribe to

Show Me Mizzou

Stay up-to-date with the latest news by subscribing to the Show Me Mizzou newsletter.