2024 Honors College spring awards announced

Two women smiling
Katie Essing, pictured left, was honored with the Outstanding Faculty Award during the annual Honors College spring awards ceremony. Logan Jackson / University of Missouri.

May 17, 2024

The University of Missouri Honors College recently recognized outstanding students and mentors for their exceptional work and service during an awards ceremony at the State Historical Society of Missouri. Additionally, the college honored Alexandra Socarides, associate provost for academic programs, for her support and dedication over the years. 

Here are the honorees and respective categories:

Outstanding Faculty Award
  • Katie Essing, assistant teaching professor of marketing

Outstanding Campus Partner Award

  • Susan Hartnagel, senior assistant director of student financial aid

Outstanding Senior Award

  • Maggie Courtney, journalism and sociology
  • Jayden Francois, physics

Excellence in Honors Scholarship (Junior)

  • Emma Baker, secondary education
  • Beth Carlson, journalism
  • Rianna Ellis, information technology and linguistics
  • Kayla Fichtel, elementary education

Excellence in Honors Scholarship (Sophomore)

  • Asher Ferguson, geography and romance languages
  • Abigail Klinkerman, journalism
  • Caitlin McGarrah, biochemistry
  • Liberty Stone, civil engineering

Excellence in Honors Scholarship (Freshman)

  • Christina Fugate, English
  • Anna Jensen, natural resource science and management
  • Michael Kloeppel, mechanical engineering
  • Andrew Kula, constitutional democracy and journalism

Outstanding Undergraduate Research Awards

  • Miles Farmer, computer science and mathematics
  • Taylor Forillo, textile and apparel management
  • Michael Hark, business and music
  • Jasper Holland, computer science
  • Samara Lewis, nursing
  • Emma McDougal, chemical engineering
  • Jordan Meininger, anthropology, German, and linguistics
  • Andrew Smith, computer science and digital storytelling

Charles M. Hudson Scholarship

  • Bella DeFranco, political science
  • Sam Skelton, parks, recreation, sport and tourism

Harry J. and Richard Hocks Endowed Fellowship

  • Nina Funk, psychology

Elaine Hocks Memorial Endowed Scholarship

  • Molly Nash, English
  • Maddie Reiser, political science
  • Isabella Trost – English and journalism

Hayden Scholarship

  • Kameron Hahn, biological sciences
  • Nora Pryor, chemistry and romance languages
  • Jessica Schroeder, mathematics

Senator Wayne Goode Scholarship

  • Allison Bivens, environmental sciences
  • Reiley Heffern, biological sciences
  • Platinum Liang, health science
  • Emma Morrow, nursing 

W. Alton Jones Memorial Scholarship

  • Luke Duffy, economics and journalism
  • Jake Hipsher, journalism, public administration and sociology
Read more from the Honors College

Subscribe to

Show Me Mizzou

Stay up-to-date with the latest news by subscribing to the Show Me Mizzou newsletter.