2024 Faculty Recognition Awards announced

May 1, 2024
Contact: Courtney Perrett, cperrett@missouri.edu
Photos by Abbie Lankitus

Whether it’s through teaching, research or mentorship, faculty at the University of Missouri blaze trails for their students’ success. This week, their significant contributions in the classroom, lab, community and beyond are recognized as part of Faculty Excellence Week. University of Missouri President Mun Choi, Interim Provost Matthew Martens, Board of Curators Chair Robin Wenneker and Vice Chancellor Chad Higgins held a Faculty Recognition Awards ceremony on April 30 to honor recipients.

“Congratulations to the many incredible faculty we recognized today,” Choi said. “We are proud to honor their achievements as well as their dedication to our land-grant mission of teaching, research and meaningful engagement."

This year's honorees:

MU Campus Awards

Donald W. Fancher Provost Award for Outstanding Achievement in Extension & Continuing Education

  • Jo Britt-Rankin

Maxine Christopher Shutz Award & Lecture for Distinguished Teaching

  • Eric Aldrich

William H. Byler Distinguished Professor Award

  • Melissa Stormont

Provost’s Award for Creative Extension Programming by New Faculty

  • Alan Spell

Provost’s Award for Leadership in International Education

  • Scott Peck

Provost’s Award for University Citizenship in Leadership

  • David Schulz

Provost’s Award for University Citizenship in Faculty Service

  • Stephen Klien

Provost’s Award for University Citizenship in Mentoring

  • Amy Simons

Provost’s Outstanding Junior Faculty Teaching Award

  • Marta Heckel
  • Jaime Mestres
  • Jessica Rodrigues

Provost’s Outstanding Junior Faculty Research & Creative Activity Award

  • Ahmed Balboula
  • Jordan Booker

Governor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching

  • Lea Ann Lowery

SEC Faculty Achievement Award

  • Jay Sexton

Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Research & Creative Activity in the Physical and Math Sciences

  • Guang Bian

Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Research & Creative Activity in the Behavioral and Social Sciences

  • Mary Beth Miller
External Awards

International Communication Association Outstanding Article Award

  • Yerina Ranjit
  • Julius Riles

Heat Transfer Memorial Award

  • Robert Tzou

American Chemical Society Award in Inorganic Chemistry

  • Jerry Atwood

Donald Q. Kern Award

  • Bill Ma

Henry Gray Scientific Achievement Award

  • Carol Ward

National Science Foundation CAREER Award

  • Jessica Rodrigues
  • Matthias Young

Fulbright Scholar

  • Dae-Young Kim

American Academy of Arts and Sciences Fellow

  • Carol Ward

National Humanities Center Fellow

  • Devin Fergus

The American Academy in Rome Andrew Heiskell/Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Rome Prize

  • Dennis Trout
UM System Awards

C. Brice Ratchford Memorial Fellowship

  • Corinne Valdivia​

2023 Curators’ Distinguished Professorships

  • Elizabeth Bryda
  • Jianlin (Jack) Cheng
  • Zhiqiang Hu
  • Erica Lembke
  • Eric Sandvol
  • Carsten Ullrich
  • Henry Wan
  • Patrick Westhoff

Curators’ Distinguished Professors Emeriti

  • Jerry Atwood
  • Marjorie Skubic

Curators’ Distinguished Teaching Professors Emeriti

  • Michelle Cecil
  • Thomas Phillips

Subscribe to

Show Me Mizzou

Stay up-to-date with the latest news by subscribing to the Show Me Mizzou newsletter.