Twelve MU faculty named Curators’ Distinguished Professors

Top row: Elizabeth Bryda, Jianlin “Jack” Cheng, Zhiqiang Hu, Erica Lembke, Blake Meyers and Eric Sandvol
Bottom row: Carsten Ullrich, Xiu-Feng “Henry” Wan, Patrick Westhoff, Jerry Atwood, Thomas Phillips and Marjorie Skubic 

Sept. 20, 2023

The University of Missouri Board of Curators recently named seven University of Missouri faculty members Curators' Distinguished Professors. A Curators' Distinguished Professorship is the highest and most prestigious academic rank awarded by the Board of Curators. It is awarded to a select few outstanding scholars with established reputations. This year's recipients are:

  • Curators’ Distinguished Professor: Elizabeth Bryda, director of the Rat Resource and Research Center, director of the MU Animal Modeling Core and professor of veterinary pathobiology
  • Curators’ Distinguished Professor: Jianlin “Jack” Cheng, William and Nancy Thompson Distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Curators’ Distinguished Professor: Zhiqiang Hu, William Andrew Davidson Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Curators’ Distinguished Professor: Erica Lembke, associate dean for research and innovation, and professor of special education
  • Curators’ Distinguished Professor: Blake Meyers, professor of plant sciences and technology
  • Curators’ Distinguished Professor: Eric Sandvol, professor of geological sciences
  • Curators’ Distinguished Professor: Carsten Ullrich, professor of physics and astronomy
  • Curators’ Distinguished Professor: Xiu-Feng “Henry” Wan, director of the NextGen Center for Influenza and Emerging Infectious Diseases, Bond Life Sciences Center principal investigator and professor of molecular microbiology and immunology
  • Curators’ Distinguished Professor: Patrick Westhoff, director of the Food and Agricultural Policy Research Institute and the Howard Cowden Professor of Agricultural and Applied Economics

Additionally, the board approved three emeriti designations:

  • Curators’ Distinguished Professor Emeritus: Jerry Atwood, professor of chemistry
  • Curators’ Distinguished Teaching Professor Emeritus: Thomas Phillips, professor of biological sciences
  • Curators’ Distinguished Professor Emerita: Marjorie Skubic, professor of electrical engineering and computer science

Subscribe to

Show Me Mizzou

Stay up-to-date with the latest news by subscribing to the Show Me Mizzou newsletter.