Four Tigers receive inaugural Remington Williams Award

Gabriella Balaa, Jonathan Jain, Ethan Joly and Rishabh Mahendra
Gabriella Balaa, Jonathan Jain, Ethan Joly and Rishabh Mahendra

June 29, 2023

The University of Missouri Board of Curators recently established the Remington R. Williams Award. The award is the highest non-academic award bestowed on students by the Board of Curators and is given in memory of Remington Williams and his outstanding service as Student Representative to the Board (2020-2022).

This year, seven University of Missouri System students were selected, and recipients receive $1,000 and a leadership medal to wear at commencement.

The four University of Missouri recipients are:

Gabriella Balaa

Gabriella Balaa is a professional student in the College of Veterinary Medicine. She currently serves as president of the College of Veterinary Medicine Class of 2025 and is president of the American College of Veterinary Medicine Internal Medicine. “Gabriella is actively leaving a positive indelible mark on the University of Missouri,” her nomination packet read. “This young woman is a force with which to be reckoned and consistently is striving for higher achievements. She embodies the mission of the University to drive excellence in academic performance, discovery through research, fostering healthy learning environments and most importantly, leaving the school better than she found it.”

Jonathan Jain

Jonathan Jain is a senior in the Missouri School of Journalism. He is also pursuing an Honors certificate. Jain recently served as a tri-director for Mizzou’s Homecoming Steering Committee and works with Rockin’ Against Multiple Sclerosis steering committees. “Jonathan both leads by example and takes on leadership roles,” his nomination packet read. “He is easy to work with and collaborative by nature, and has a great attitude that helps others believe that a project can be successfully completed. He is a perfect candidate for this award.”

Ethan Joly

Ethan Joly is a senior in the Robert J. Trulaske College of Business. He is the director of Rockin’ Against Multiple Sclerosis and president of the MU club soccer team. “Ethan has devoted his college experience to the service of others and mentoring students in sports and academics,” his nomination packet read. “He represents Mizzou’s mission and values and goes above those. He has compassion and the adaptability to make things better for everyone around him. Wherever he goes in life, he will change the world for the better.”

Rishabh Mahendra

Rishabh Mahendra is a graduate student in the College of Agriculture, Food and Natural Resources. He is treasurer and past president of Mizzou’s chapter of Universities Fighting World Hunger, and currently serves as president of the Division of Applied Social Sciences Graduate Student Association. “Rishabh is one of the most energetic and engaged graduate students I have seen in more than two decades at MU,” his nomination packet read. “In addition to making steady progress in his graduate studies, Rishabh serves in leadership positions at the department and campus levels and volunteers his time to help his fellow students succeed in Columbia and at Mizzou. He is without a doubt a leader who lives in service to others.”

Subscribe to

Show Me Mizzou

Stay up-to-date with the latest news by subscribing to the Show Me Mizzou newsletter.