Four Tigers named Hesburgh Scholars

Mathew Kimaku, Arden Schupp, Elizabeth Trower and Carly Hays
Mathew Kimaku, Arden Schupp, Elizabeth Trower and Carly Hays

May 25, 2023

A quartet of Tigers recently received the Hesburgh Scholarship, named in honor of the former president of Notre Dame University, Father Theodore Hesburgh and his commitment to liberal arts education. The annual award goes to four University of Missouri undergraduate students, one from each class, in recognition of their achievements in the university’s general education program. The general education program is designed to ensure that while students specialize, or major, in an area, they also leave the university with a breadth and depth of general knowledge.

This year’s winners are:

Mathew Kimaku, a freshman health science major from Lee’s Summit, Missouri

Arden Schupp, a sophomore psychology major from Sedalia, Missouri

Elizabeth Trower, a junior journalism major from Perry, Missouri

Carly Hays, a senior health science major from Kansas City, Missouri

All four students are also pursuing the Honors certificate at MU.

Subscribe to

Show Me Mizzou

Stay up-to-date with the latest news by subscribing to the Show Me Mizzou newsletter.