2023 Faculty Recognition Awards announced

  • a woman smiles and chats with president choi

April 27, 2023
Photos by Abbie Lankitus

University of Missouri faculty make significant contributions in the classroom, the lab, the community and far beyond the MU campus. As part of Faculty Excellence Week, President Mun Choi and Provost Latha Ramchand held a Faculty Recognition Awards ceremony on April 26 to honor 2023 award recipients.

"We are so fortunate to have world-renowned faculty who are dedicated to our research, teaching and service mission,” Choi said. “Tonight, we celebrate your achievements."

This year’s honorees

2022 Curators’ Distinguished Professorships

  • Hongbin Ma
  • Ron Mittler
  • Rajiv Mohan
  • Kannappan Palaniappan
  • Tommy Sewell
  • John Walker (Emeritus)
  • Dorina Kosztin (In Memoriam)

2022 American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellows

  • Shubhra Gangopadhyay
  • Chris Lorson
  • Xiu-Feng "Henry" Wan
  • Bing Yang
  • Xiaoqin Zou

2022 American Psychological Association Fellows

  • Debora Bell
  • Douglas Steinley

2022 Comparative and Evolutionary Physiology Section New Investigator Award

  • Joseph Santin

2022 Earle K. Plyler Prize for Molecular Spectroscopy

  • Arthur Suits

2022 Fulbright Scholars

  • David Crespy
  • Kenneth G MacLeod
  • Wilson Majee

Glenn T. Seaborg Award for Nuclear Chemistry

  • Carolyn Anderson

2022 National Academy of Science member

  • Blake Meyers

2022 National Academy of Inventors senior member

  • David Grant

2022 National Endowment for the Humanities Fellowship

  • Stephen Karian

2022 National Humanities Center Fellow

  • Martha Kelly

Outstanding Faculty Research and Creative Activity in the Biological Sciences

  • Paula McSteen

Outstanding Faculty Research and Creative Activity in the Performing Arts and Humanities

  • Sean Franzel

Governor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching

  • Earnest Perry

SEC Faculty Achievement Award

  • Wendy Reinke

Maxine Christopher Shutz Award and Lecture for Distinguished Teaching

  • Pamela Brown

Thomas Jefferson Award

  • Robert Sharp

C. Brice Ratchford Memorial Fellowship Award

  • Sara Hiles

William H. Byler Distinguished Professor Award

  • Rafael Gely

Donald W. Fancher Provost Award for Outstanding Achievement in Extension and Continuing Education

  • Julie Kapp

Provost’s Award for Creative Extension Programming by New Faculty

  • Tanner Adkins

Provost’s Award for Leadership in International Education

  • Wilson Majee

Provost’s Award for University Citizenship in Service

  • Keith Greenwood

Provost’s Award for University Citizenship in Leadership

  • Christopher Slaten

Outstanding Junior Faculty Teaching Awards

  • Greg Cox
  • Sarah Owens
  • Kellie Stanfield

Outstanding Junior Faculty Research and Creative Activity Awards

  • Jessica Rodrigues
  • Li Zhao

Subscribe to

Show Me Mizzou

Stay up-to-date with the latest news by subscribing to the Show Me Mizzou newsletter.