Nine MU faculty named Curators’ Distinguished Professors

headshots of nine people

Top row: Bethany Stone, Dongsheng Duan, Aigen Li, Christian Lorson and Wendy Reinke
Bottom row: Marjorie Skubic, Jianguo (Tony) Sun, Dong Xu and David Pintel

Sept. 20, 2021 

The University of Missouri Board of Curators recently named nine University of Missouri faculty members Curators' Distinguished Professors. A Curators' Distinguished Professorship is the highest and most prestigious academic rank awarded by the Board of Curators. It is awarded to a select few outstanding scholars with established reputations. This year's recipients are:

  • Curators’ Distinguished Teaching Professor: Bethany Stone, professor of biological sciences
  • Curators’ Distinguished Professor: Dongsheng Duan, professor of molecular microbiology and immunology
  • Curators’ Distinguished Professor: Aigen Li, professor of astrophysics
  • Curators’ Distinguished Professor: Christian Lorson, professor of veterinary pathobiology
  • Curators’ Distinguished Professor: Wendy Reinke, professor of school psychology
  • Curators’ Distinguished Professor: Marjorie Skubic, professor of electrical engineering and computer science
  • Curators’ Distinguished Professor: Jianguo (Tony) Sun, professor of statistics
  • Curators’ Distinguished Professor: Dong Xu, professor of electrical engineering and computer science

Additionally, David Pintel, emeritus professor of molecular microbiology and immunology, was named Curators' Distinguished Professor Emeritus.


Subscribe to

Show Me Mizzou

Stay up-to-date with the latest news by subscribing to the Show Me Mizzou newsletter.