Mizzou 18 and ’39 Award recipients announced

mizzou 18 and mizzou 39 logos

March 4, 2021

This week, the Mizzou Alumni Association and Alumni Association Student Board named the 2021 Mizzou 18 Award and Mizzou ’39 Award recipients. Read on to learn more about each award and see a list of this year’s honorees.

The Mizzou 18 Award

This award is dedicated to honoring 18 University of Missouri graduate and professional students in the last year of their degree eligibility. Recipients are chosen for their world-class research, collaboration with faculty and staff and their demonstrated leadership with undergraduate students.

2021 recipients:

  • Keisha Avery; Biological Engineering; St. Louis, Missouri
  • Janae Bradley; Biological Engineering; St. Louis, Missouri
  • Jenny Broyles; Educational School and Counseling Psychology; St. Charles, Missouri
  • Velma Buckner; Educational Leadership and Policy Analysis; Columbia, Missouri
  • Darius Caffey; Public Affairs; Chicago, Illinois
  • Xiomara Cornejo; Theatre and Performance Studies; Compton, California
  • Chuka Emezue; Nursing; Abia State, Nigeria
  • Sammy Gerb; Veterinary Pathobiology; Brick, New Jersey
  • Kennedi Keyes; Communication Science and Disorders; Chicago, Illinois
  • Shannon King; Biochemistry; Plattsmouth, Nebraska
  • Jaime Luke; Agricultural and Applied Economics; Stanberry, Missouri
  • Michael Nance; Medicine; St. Louis, Missouri
  • Brittany Pomilee; Educational Leadership and Policy Analysis; Foristell, Missouri
  • Brionna Pratt; Law; Houston, Texas
  • Tori Schafer; Law; Sylvania, Ohio
  • Phelan Simpkins; Law; Chicago, Illinois
  • Doug Valentine; Sociology; East Peoria, Illinois
  • Preston Wilson; Music; Durham, North Carolina
The Mizzou ’39 Award

In the spirit of service that was the cornerstone of the 1839 founding of the University of Missouri, the Mizzou Alumni Association Student Board presents the Mizzou '39 Award to 39 outstanding seniors each year. Recipients are chosen for their academic achievement, leadership and service to Mizzou and the community.

2021 recipients:

  • Emma Austin; Business Administration, Marketing and Communications, Organizational; Webster Groves, Missouri
  • Haviland Blevins; Health Science; DeSoto, Texas
  • Madeleine Brownfield; Biochemistry; St. Joseph, Missouri
  • Terrell Christian Jr.; Human Physiology and Translational Sciences; Kansas City, Missouri
  • Payton Cousins; Journalism, Strategic Communication; Mundelein, Illinois
  • Lauryn Cureton; Biochemistry; Calumet City, Illinois
  • Avery Dalal; Convergence Journalism, Emerging Media; Frisco, Texas
  • Erin Davis; Convergence Journalism, TV Reporting; Frisco, Texas
  • Joseph Davis; Accountancy; Stockton, Missouri
  • Schyyler Davis; Health Science, Leadership and Policy; Joliet, Illinois
  • Avery Esquivel; Early Childhood Education; Lincoln, Nebraska
  • Janelle Finch; Journalism; Naperville, Illinois
  • Destiny Gee; Middle School Science Education; Kansas City, Missouri
  • Kobe Gibson; Architectural Studies; Memphis, Tennessee
  • Lex Hunter; Secondary Language Arts; Flossmoor, Illinois
  • Andrew Jones; Biological Sciences; Hebron, Kentucky
  • Benjamin Jones; Biology; Hebron, Kentucky
  • Ronell Jones II; Chemical Engineering; Kansas City, Missouri
  • Armaja LaRue-Hill; Documentary Journalism and Computer Science; Kansas City, Missouri
  • Sierra Nelson; Biology; Rockford, Illinois
  • Beatrice Nkansah; International Studies, Peace Studies; Naperville, Illinois
  • Chisom Okafor; Journalism, Strategic Communication; St. Louis, Missouri
  • Parker Owens; Business Administration, Marketing and Journalism, Strategic Communication; Noel, Missouri
  • Jada Page; Documentary Journalism; Kansas City, Missouri
  • Lisette Perez; Natural Resources Science and Management; Chicago, Illinois
  • GareAna Rosebud; Nursing; Memphis, Tennessee
  • Jillian Rosenkranz; Accountancy; Millstadt, Illinois
  • Lee Russell; Journalism, Broadcast-Radio; St. Louis, Missouri
  • Grace Schollmeyer; Nursing; Jefferson City, Missouri
  • Stephanie Scott; Biochemistry and Nutritional Science; Jefferson City, Missouri
  • Britt Smith; Civil Engineering; Dubuque, Iowa
  • Ryan Sparks; Accountancy; Bloomington, Illinois
  • Katie Sticklen; Journalism, Strategic Communication and Women's and Gender Studies; Joplin, Missouri
  • Yasmeen Taranissi; Accountancy and Economics; Columbia, Missouri
  • Jessica Tifase; Digital Storytelling; Houston, Texas
  • Anthony Tretter; Political Science; O’Fallon, Missouri
  • Tylar Weddington; Journalism, Strategic Communication; Dallas, Texas
  • Emma Weil; Middle School Language Arts; Collinsville, Illinois
  • Becca Wells; Political Science and Statistics; Columbia, Missouri

Learn more

Subscribe to

Show Me Mizzou

Stay up-to-date with the latest news by subscribing to the Show Me Mizzou newsletter.