2021 Academic Award for Distinction recipients announced

May 18, 2021

The University of Missouri recently announced 15 recipients of the 2021 Academic Award for Distinction. This honor was established in 2014 by a group of students to celebrate fellow Tigers who have gone above and beyond expectations. It is one of the highest honors MU offers based on academic distinction alone.

This year’s recipients represent six schools and colleges and 19 majors, demonstrating the presence of excellence in academics and research throughout campus. Many of the recipients have also received national recognitions for their academic and research accomplishments.

The honorees are:
  • *Della Cox (University City, Missouri), junior, sociology and statistics
  • Shakira Cross (Columbia), junior, secondary language arts education and English
  • *Mollie Harrison (Kirkwood, Missouri),senior, chemical engineering
  • *Benjamin Jones (Hebron, Kentucky), senior, biological sciences
  • Dominique Joseph (Columbia), senior, biological sciences and German
  • *James Kim (St. Louis), senior, biomedical engineering
  • *Elizabeth Kujath (Kansas City, Missouri), senior, linguistics and religious studies
  • *Brandon Lee (Kearney, Missouri), senior, physics and chemical engineering
  • *Andrew Mitchell (Lee’s Summit, Missouri), junior, chemistry
  • *David Retherford (Whitewater, Missouri), junior, finance and economics
  • Abigail Ruhman (Raytown, Missouri), junior, convergence radio reporting
  • *Paige Smith (St. Peter’s, Missouri), December 2020 graduate, public health
  • *Rebecca Shyu (Columbia), senior, computer science
  • *Rebecca Wells (Columbia), senior, political science and statistics
  • *Alice Yu (Columbia), senior, strategic communication

*MU Honors College students

Learn more about the recipients

Subscribe to

Show Me Mizzou

Stay up-to-date with the latest news by subscribing to the Show Me Mizzou newsletter.