Trulaske College of Business professor awarded 2020 Kemper Fellowship for Teaching Excellence

September 2, 2020
Contact: Liz McCune, 573-882-6212,

Mun Y. Choi, UM System president and MU chancellor, and Steve Sowers, president and CEO of the central and eastern Missouri region of Commerce Bank, today awarded a 2020 William T. Kemper Fellowship for Teaching Excellence to Daryl Smith, an associate teaching professor of management in the Trulaske College of Business.

Trulaske College of Business Dean Ajay Vinzé and administrators surprised Smith by honoring him with the fellowship, which includes a $10,000 check. Kemper Fellowships are awarded to five outstanding teachers at the University of Missouri each year.

This is the 30th anniversary of the William T. Kemper Fellowships for Teaching Excellence, which were established in 1991 with a $500,000 gift. Kemper, a 1926 MU graduate, was a well-known civic leader in Kansas City until his death in 1989. His 52-year career in banking included top positions at banks in Missouri, Kansas and Oklahoma. Commerce Bank manages the trust fund.

A bio of Smith is available here.

This is a photo of Mun Choi and Daryl Smith.

UM System President and MU Chancellor Mun Choi congratulates Daryl Smith on his 2020 William T. Kemper Fellowship for Teaching Excellence.

Subscribe to

Show Me Mizzou

Stay up-to-date with the latest news by subscribing to the Show Me Mizzou newsletter.