85 freshmen named Walter Williams Scholars

The award represents the highest level of student distinction at the Missouri School of Journalism.

walter williams scholar photos

Sept. 16, 2020

This fall, the Missouri School of Journalism named 85 incoming freshman Walter Williams Scholars — the highest level of student distinction in the school.

To qualify, students must have been in the top 20 percent of their high school class, have maintained a GPA of 3.25 or above and have earned at least a 33 on the ACT or 1480 on the SAT.

“We are excited to have a stellar group of Walter Williams Scholars, and we are particularly excited to have the second highest number in our program’s history,

said Brian Brooks, associate dean emeritus and Walter Williams Scholars program faculty lead. “They represent the future of American journalism, and we are thrilled to welcome them to Mizzou and the School of Journalism.”

The fall 2020 class of Walter Williams Scholars is:
  • Olivia Anderson, Spring, Texas
  • Mason Arneson, Golden Valley, Minn.
  • Cassie Beisheim, St. Louis, Mo.
  • Casey Bonds, Joplin, Mo.
  • Tommy Briner, Wentzville, Mo.
  • Audrey Brown, Wildwood, Mo.
  • Andreas Busse, Sammamish, Wash.
  • Tommy Carrico, Mount Prospect, Ill.
  • Quinn Coffman, St. Louis, Mo.
  • Ryan Cohen, Bolivar, Mo.
  • Jack Copeland, Brownsburg, Ind.
  • Maggie Courtney, Springfield, Mo.
  • Geoffrey Dean, Cary, NC
  • Ellie DeBeer, Highlands Ranch, Colo.
  • Elizabeth Derner, Washington, Mo.
  • Richard Deutsch, Chicago, Ill.
  • Lily Dozier, Camas, Wash.
  • Madelynn Draus, Weston, Ill.
  • Justin Dunbar, Millbrae, Calif.
  • Kara Ellis, Hendersonville, Tenn.
  • Ashley Faber, Memphis, Tenn.
  • Kiana Fernandes, Kansas City, Mo.
  • Merrick Foote, Antioch, Ill.
  • Sequoia Gallaway, Ozark, Mo.
  • Katie Gallaway, Plano, Texas
  • Sara George, Boulder, Colo.
  • Parker Gillam, Alpharetta, Ga.
  • Kirsten Godfrey, Southfield, Mich.
  • Joe Goodman, Iowa City, Iowa
  • Emily Anne Griffith, Decatur, Ala.
  • Hannah Gundlach, Waterloo, Ill.
  • Ella Haas, Oak Park, Ill.
  • Brennan Haralson, Austin, Texas
  • Jaclyn Harris, Argyle, Texas
  • Ben Henschel, Fairway, Kan.
  • Emily Hood, St. Charles, Mo.
  • Ava Horton, Little Rock, Ark.
  • Jonathan Jain, Kennett, Mo.
  • Emmet Jamieson, Rochester Mills, Pa.
  • Thomas Jamison, St. Charles, Mo.
  • Caitlin Kane, Colorado Springs, Colo.
  • Teagan King, Geneva, Ill.
  • Sam Kingery, Teutopolis, Ill.
  • Zoe Krause, St. Louis, Mo.
  • Danielle Laue, Lisle, Ill.
  • Patrick Leonard, Glenview Manor, Ky.
  • Gabe Levi, Chicago, Ill.
  • Claudia Linder, Eads, Tenn.
  • Lindsey Linkous, Thompsons Station, Tenn.
  • Caleb Logue, Santa Rosa, Calif.
  • Connor Manley, Crystal City, Mo.
  • Maddie Meyers, St. Louis, Mo.
  • Marta Mieze, Ballwin, Mo.
  • Molly Miller, Cherry Hill Village, Colo.
  • Mia Montgomery, Bolivar, Mo.
  • Ryan Moore, St. Louis, Mo.
  • Maya Morris, Memphis, Tenn.
  • Matthew Newkirk, Overland Park, Kan.
  • Nico Orantes, Murfreesboro, Tenn.
  • Maddie Orr, Columbia, Mo.
  • Ethan Peter, St. Louis, Mo.
  • Faith Quist, Minnetonka, Minn.
  • Emma Reiser, Kansas City, Mo.
  • Sigi Ris, The Woodlands, Texas
  • Gabby Rivera Kroenke, Kansas City, Mo.
  • Amy Schaffer, Kansas City, Mo.
  • Faith Schilmoeller, West Plains, Mo.
  • Bradford Siwak, Richmond Heights, Mo.
  • Elese Smith, Jerseyville, Ill.
  • Maren Stephens, Alpharetta, Ga.
  • Johnny Sterrett, Kansas City, Mo.
  • Bailey Stover, Columbia, Mo.
  • Emma Tacchia, Joliet, Ill.
  • Caitlin Tate, Memphis, Tenn.
  • Sarah Tierney, Lakeway, Texas
  • Cass Tobin, Springfield, Mo.
  • Jackson Valenti, Raymore, Mo.
  • Kortay Vincent, Tulsa, Ok.
  • Ian Wesselhoff, Plainfield, Ill.
  • Nick Winkelman, Plano, Ill.
  • Brynn Winkler, Prairie Village, Kan.
  • Shannon Worley, Wildwood, Mo.
  • Molly Wright, West Des Moines, Iowa
  • Cayli Yanagida, Olympia,  Wash.
  • Owen Ziliak, Chicago, Ill.

Read more from the Missouri School of Journalism

Subscribe to

Show Me Mizzou

Stay up-to-date with the latest news by subscribing to the Show Me Mizzou newsletter.