Five MU students awarded Chang-Lin Tien Scholarships

The scholarships were given to students showcasing commitment to public service and community outreach.

Sept. 2, 2020

Five MU students have been awarded Chang-Lin Tien Scholarships.

MU students (clockwise from top left) Ryan Janikowski, James Kim Jr., Connor Lovelace, Li Zhang and Catherine Wilkins have been awarded Chang-Lin Tien Scholarships.

In 2019, UM System President and MU Chancellor Mun Y. Choi was awarded the Chang-Lin Tien Leadership in Education Award, which honors an Asian American and Pacific Islander who has achieved significant academic accomplishments and demonstrates the potential to advance to the highest leadership levels in higher education.

The honor included a $10,000 grant to establish a systemwide Chang-Lin Tien Scholarship Fund to support exceptional, civic-minded students. Choi recently selected 12 scholarship recipients from across the UM System — including five students from MU. The students are:

Read more from UM System

Subscribe to

Show Me Mizzou

Stay up-to-date with the latest news by subscribing to the Show Me Mizzou newsletter.