President Mun Choi appointed to the Southeastern Conference 2023-24 Executive Committee

Mun Choi

June 27, 2023

University of Missouri President Mun Choi has been elected to the Southeastern Conference 2023-24 Executive Committee, beginning July 1. Choi, who became the 24th president of the university in 2017, will begin a two-year term as vice president of the seven-member SEC committee in 2025.

Joining the committee with Choi is University of Alabama President Stuart Bell, who will serve a two-year stint as president and University of Tennessee Chancellor Donde Plowman, who will serve as vice president while Ron Rychlack, faculty representative from University of Mississippi, will continue as the secretary. 

Continuing members of the committee are University of Arkansas Director of Athletics Hunter Yurachek, Mississippi State University Senior Woman Administrator Ann Carr and Texas A&M University Faculty Athletics Representative Paul Batista. 

MU joined the SEC in July 2012.

The SEC Executive Committee is comprised of the three officers of the conference and four individuals elected at the regular annual conference meeting. The elected members are composed of a chief executive officer, director of athletics, senior woman administrator and faculty athletics representative. 

The primary responsibility of the SEC Executive Committee is to approve the annual operating budget of the conference and oversee all financial and fiscal affairs of the conference as administered by the commissioner. 

Read more on President Mun Choi's blog

Subscribe to

Show Me Mizzou

Stay up-to-date with the latest news by subscribing to the Show Me Mizzou newsletter.