MU Faculty Council announces 2022–23 Shared Governance Awards

April 10, 2023

The University of Missouri Faculty Council recently announced its 2022–23 Shared Governance Awards. The awards recognize individuals and groups who have demonstrated a commitment to excellence in shared governance on our campus.

“Shared governance is a cornerstone of being a successful and productive university in fulfilling our teaching, research and service missions,” said faculty council chairman Graham McCaulley. “The ideal of shared governance at MU involves mutual respect, accountability, and collaboration between faculty and administration, and the winners of this award showcase excellent good-faith efforts on the part of faculty in this endeavor.”

This year’s recipients are:

Rabia Gregory
Rabia Gregory

Rabia Gregory is an associate professor religious studies in the College of Arts and Science.

In her nomination, individuals from MU’s American Association of University Professors (AAUP) recognized her for helping grow the chapter and her commitment to the MU community. “In her work on shared governance, she is always willing to speak and to listen to all those involved with the university, including those she otherwise might disagree with,” one nomination read.

Another nomination stated, “Professor Gregory’s leadership in shared governance stems from her commitment to earning the trust of faculty of all ranks, statuses and disciplines.”

Sam O'Keefe / University of Missouri
The NTT Inclusion Ad Hoc Committee

The Non-Tenure Track Inclusion Ad Hoc Committee was recognized as this year’s group award winner. Chairs Noël Kopriva and Liz Harrison accepted the honor of behalf of the group.

“The work of this committee resulted in substantial, tangible outcomes in the 2022–23 academic year that strengthen shared governance at the University of Missouri,” the nomination read.

Specific implemented changes included updates to faculty bylaws to better incorporate Extension field faculty and librarians and addition of gender-neutral language, among others.

The group’s proposed changes passed a full faculty vote by Faculty Council, and the Board of Curators approved changes to the faculty bylaws CRR 300.010 in February 2023.

Subscribe to

Show Me Mizzou

Stay up-to-date with the latest news by subscribing to the Show Me Mizzou newsletter.