2022 Award for Academic Distinction recipients announced

  • zayd al-rawi graphic congratulating award for academic distinction

May 2, 2021

The University of Missouri recently announced 15 recipients of the 2022 Award for Academic Distinction. This honor was established in 2014 by a group of students to celebrate fellow Tigers who have gone above and beyond expectations. It is one of the highest honors MU offers based on academic distinction alone.

This year’s recipients represent three schools and colleges and 18 majors, demonstrating the presence of excellence in academics and research throughout campus. Many of the recipients have also received national recognitions for their academic and research accomplishments.

The honorees are:
  • Zayd Al Rawi, senior, biology*
  • Maggie Courtney, sophomore, strategic communication and sociology*
  • Quinn Cunningham, senior, physics and linguistics*
  • Zoe Korte, junior, English, romance languages — Spanish and Ancient Mediterranean Studies — Greek*
  • Bailey Martin, junior, history and constitutional democracy*
  • Tessi Muskrat Rickabaugh, senior, women's and gender studies and religious studies*
  • Kismet Okyere, senior, psychology
  • Jashayla Pettigrew, senior, journalism and women's and gender studies
  • Caleb Ridings, senior, philosophy and linguistics*
  • Caleb Sewell, senior, educational studies and Black studies
  • Harjeev Singh, sophomore, biological sciences*
  • Makenna Tourville, junior, textile and apparel management
  • Addie Von Drehle, junior, constitutional democracy*
  • Lauryn Williams, senior, physics (emphasis in astronomy) and mathematics
  • Lillian Williams, junior, public history and American constitutional democracy*

*Denotes MU Honors College students

Subscribe to

Show Me Mizzou

Stay up-to-date with the latest news by subscribing to the Show Me Mizzou newsletter.