College of Education announces 2021 Education Award winners

April 1, 2021

The College of Education recently recognized the achievements of faculty, staff, students and alumni who made outstanding contributions to the college during the past year. Here are the honorees:

Alumni Lifetime Achievement

  • Jay Fiene (PhD ’95)

Alumni Professional Achievement

  • Amy Lannin (PhD ’07)

Alumni Outstanding Early Career

  • Jonathan McElderry (PhD ’15)

Honorary Alumni

  • Kathryn Chval

Faculty Inclusion, Diversity & Equity Award

  • Terrell Morton

Professional Staff Inclusion, Diversity & Equity Award

  • Ana Galicia

Graduate Student Inclusion, Diversity & Equity Award

  • Sarah de Marchena

Undergraduate Student Inclusion, Diversity & Equity Award

  • Roman Leapheart

Outstanding College Teaching — Early Career

  • Rose Metro

Outstanding College Teaching

  • Beth Whitaker

Excellence in Research and Scholarly Activity

  • Matt Burns

Distinguished Professional Staff

  • Brittany Smotherson

Graduate Advisor/Mentor of the Year

  • Jennifer Fellabaum-Toston

Graduate Student Instructor of the Year

  • Stephanie Hopkins

Undergraduate Student Leader of the Year

  • Mikayla Reed

Graduate Student Leader of the Year

  • Brittany Fatoma

Graduate Student Scholar of the Year

  • Monica Kleekamp (PhD ’20)

Excellence in Engagement & Outreach — Internal

  • MU Center for School-Wide PBS

Excellence in Engagement & Outreach — External

  • KC Scholars

Friends of the College

  • Kansas City Audio-Visual (KCAV)

Read more from the College of Education

Subscribe to

Show Me Mizzou

Stay up-to-date with the latest news by subscribing to the Show Me Mizzou newsletter.