Mizzou Alumni Association recognizes Hegeman, Griggs with Geyer Award

Missouri senator, former CEO acknowledged for their dedication to higher education.

Feb. 17, 2022
Contact: Stephanie Fleming, 573-882-8353, sfleming@missouri.edu

Missouri Senator Dan Hegeman (BS ’85) and Dave Griggs, former president and CEO of Dave Griggs’ Flooring America, have received the Henry S. Geyer Award from the Mizzou Alumni Association.

Each year, the MAA presents the Geyer Award to one elected official and one citizen who exemplify the dedication and spirit of Henry S. Geyer, a state representative from St. Louis. Geyer believed education was the key to progress and prosperity in Missouri and introduced a bill to establish the University of Missouri in 1839.

This is a photo of Dan Hegeman.

Dan Hegeman is one of the 2022 Henry S. Geyer Award recipients from the Mizzou Alumni Association.

“Senator Dan Hegeman and Dave Griggs have both contributed significantly to higher education in Missouri, and in doing so have exemplified the spirit the Mizzou Alumni Association seeks to recognize with the Geyer Award,” Sabrina McDonell, president of the MAA Board of Directors. “They’ve used their platforms to make a positive change in their communities, and as such are both well-deserving as this year’s recipients.”

Hegeman, who lives on a farm with his family near Cosby, Missouri, has served in the Missouri legislature for nearly two decades and represents Missouri’s 12th Senatorial District. He currently serves as chair of the Majority Caucus and the Senate Appropriations Committee. Hegeman also serves as a member of numerous other senate committees, including the Committee on Local Government and Elections.

This is a photo of David Griggs.

David Griggs is one of the 2022 Henry S. Geyer Award recipients from the Mizzou Alumni Association.

As chair of the Senate Appropriations Committee, Hegeman has led two successful initiatives to increase funding for higher education institutions, including a funding increase of $15 million for Mizzou. He also pushed for financial support of key capital improvement projects, including $10 million for the Roy Blunt NextGen Precision Health building and $15 million for a new MU veterinary medicine building.

Griggs of Columbia, has been a lifelong advocate for public education. As former president and CEO of Dave Griggs’ Flooring America, he has used his knowledge and position as a local business leader to enhance the relationship between Boone County, Columbia and the university, furthering economic development both regionally and statewide.

Griggs has served on the MU Political Action Committee, the Mizzou Legislative Network and the MU Flagship Council, among others. Additionally, his leadership with Regional Economic Development, Inc. (REDI) has secured the university’s partnerships with multiple businesses including IBM, ABC Laboratories and Newsy.com, providing students with potential employment and internship opportunities.

“This year’s recipients have made significant efforts in securing the future of higher education,” said Todd McCubbin, associate vice chancellor for alumni relations and executive director of MAA. “Generations of Missourians will benefit from the opportunities created in part by these two members our community.”

For a list of all past Geyer Award recipients, visit the Mizzou Alumni Association.

Subscribe to

Show Me Mizzou

Stay up-to-date with the latest news by subscribing to the Show Me Mizzou newsletter.